Tale Of The Tape: Battle Of The Triple Crowns

Miguel Cabrera. (Photo by Ed Zurga/Getty Images)
  • What Is It?
    Winning Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes
    Leading league in batting average, home runs and RBIs
  • How Many Times Has It Been Accomplished?
    11 times
    17 times
  • The First Winner
    Sir Barton in 1919
    Paul Hines in 1878 (.358 BA, 4 HRs, 50 RBI)
  • The Last Winner
    Affirmed in 1978
    Miguel Cabrera in 2012 (.330, 44 HR, 139 RBIs)
  • Repeat Winners
    One (Trainer “Sunny Jim” Fitzsimmons in 1930 and 1935)
    Two (Rogers Hornsby in 1922, 1925 and Ted Williams 1942, 1947)
  • Trophy/Award
    Triple Crown Trophy
    Custom trophy, possible bonus money
  • The Hype
    Most times it's over by the end of the Preakness
    Can go up until the final day of the regular season
The horse racing Triple Crown is slightly more rare than baseball's Triple Crown, but sometimes all the hype is over after two weeks. At least with baseball the hunt can last a full 162-game season, so we'll give it the slight edge for that reason.