BOSTON (CBS) — Patrice Bergeron: Two-time Selke winner.

That’s now what the Boston Bruins alternate captain can call himself, after he was named the winner of the 2014 Frank. J. Selke Trophy at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Tuesday night.

Read: Tuukka Rask Wins Vezina Trophy

Bergeron was nominated along with Anze Kopitar, alternate captain of the Stanley Cup-champion Los Angeles Kings, and Jonathan Toews, captain of the Chicago Blackhawks.

The award is “given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game,” and it is voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Bergeron won the award in 2012, when he finished the season with 64 points (22-42-64) and an NHL-best plus-36 rating. Bergeron finished this season with 62 points (30-32-62) and a plus-38 rating, second in the NHL only to teammate David Krejci. Additionally, Bergeron posted the NHL’s best Corsi For percentage at 61.2 percent, according to Extra Skater. Among forwards, Kopitar ranked second (61.0 percent) and Toews ranked sixth (59.3 percent).

“It makes you proud,” Bruins head coach Claude Julien said of Bergeron’s nomination in April. “He’s well-deserving of that, and he has been for years now. He’s always up there in plus-minus. He always plays against top players. He produced 30 goals this year — and that’s playing against top lines — so I can’t find a better candidate than him. He certainly deserves the nomination. In our regards, he’s the best.”

Bergeron also won the 2013-14 NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL 15 cover vote. The Foundation Player Award recognizes an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey — commitment, perseverance and teamwork — to enrich the lives of people in his community.

2013-2014 Frank Selke Trophy Voting, Top 20 Finishers

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 1,283 (112-21-2-2-0)
2. Anze Kopitar, LA 840 (20-66-26-15-3)
3. Jonathan Toews, CHI 624 (2-36-57-20-7)
4. David Backes, STL 415 (3-5-31-59-18)
5. Marian Hossa, CHI 66 (0-5-2-2-15)
6. Ryan O’Reilly, COL 58 (0-0-3-10-13)
7. Tomas Plekanec, MTL 45 (0-0-4-5-10)
8. Joe Pavelski, SJ 32 (0-0-2-3-13)
9. Sean Couturier, PHI 30 (0-1-2-1-10)
10. Ryan Getzlaf, ANA 22 (0-1-1-2-4)
11. Ondrej Palat, TB 19 (0-0-1-3-5)
12. David Krejci, BOS 16 (0-0-2-1-3)
13. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 11 (0-1-0-1-1)
14. Antoine Vermette, PHX 11 (0-0-0-3-2)
15. Alex Steen, STL 9 (0-0-1-1-1)
16. Paul Stastny, COL 8 (0-1-0-0-1)
17. Frans Nielsen, NYI 8 (0-0-1-1-0)
18. Sidney Crosby, PIT 8 (0-0-0-2-2)
19. Tyler Johnson, TB 6 (0-0-1-0-1)
20. Brandon Dubinsky, CBJ 6 (0-0-0-2-0)


Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s