Red Sox

MLB Changes Error To Hit For Ortiz vs. Darvish

View Comments
David Ortiz (Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

David Ortiz (Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Boston Red Sox
Upcoming Games

Buy Red Sox Tickets Full Schedule
Bruins Central
Shop for Bruins Gear
Buy Bruins Tickets

NHL Scoreboard
NHL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Red Sox Central
Shop for Red Sox Gear
Buy Red Sox Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

BOSTON (AP/CBS) –Yu Darvish’s recent no-hit bid now officially ended in the seventh inning, not the ninth, and David Ortiz now has another hit to his name.

Major League Baseball has overturned a controversial scoring decision from Friday’s game between the Rangers and Red Sox. Acting on an appeal by the Boston slugger, MLB changed an error in the seventh to a single on Wednesday.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters before Ortiz hit a popup that was ruled an error even though it wasn’t touched.

The popup dropped between Texas rookie second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios. The official scorer charged Rios with an error, citing MLB rules that a ball doesn’t have to be touched to be an error if a routine catch was possible.

Per Rule 10.12:

The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball.

 Ortiz later broke up Darvish’s bid for a no-hitter with a clean single with two outs in the ninth.

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,529 other followers