CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (AP) — Firefighters from 18 Massachusetts communities have been honored for their service by Gov. Deval Patrick and other state officials.

The annual firefighter of the year awards were held Thursday at Kresge Auditorium at MIT.

Among those honored were both on- and off-duty firefighters from the Boston, Beverly, Brockton, Cambridge, Lynn, Salem, Stoughton and Massport fire departments who responded to the Boston Marathon bombings in April and helped in the aftermath.

The fire marshal’s award was presented to the Boston, Cambridge and Watertown fire departments and 24 individual firefighters, many of them marathon volunteers, spectators or participants.

State Fire Marshal Stephen D. Coan says the firefighters who responded instinctively used their training to save lives.

Sixteen other awards were also presented.

 Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s