Medical Marijuana Dispensaries Could Face $50,000 Annual Registration Fee

BOSTON (AP) — State public health officials are proposing a fee structure for the state’s new medical marijuana program.

Under draft regulations filed Friday, patients certified to receive medical marijuana would pay a $50 annual registration fee to the state. Those who qualify for a hardship license to cultivate marijuana at home would pay an additional $100 fee.

The proposed rules call for marijuana dispensaries to pay an initial $1,500 application fee, followed by a $30,000 charge for the second phase of licensing. Both fees would be non-refundable.

Licensed dispensaries would then pay an annual registration fee of $50,000.

The voter-approved law allows for up to 35 dispensaries in Massachusetts to provide marijuana to patients suffering from certain medical conditions.

A public hearing on the proposed fees has been scheduled for June 14.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.

  • Share via e-mail – Boston Globe

    […] Medical Marijuana Dispensaries Could Face $50000 Annual Registration FeeCBS LocalMassachusetts sets medical marijuana fees to finance operation of industryMassLive.comBoston magazine’s Boston Daily (blog) -Reason -The Recorderall 12 news articles » […]

  • Despite Lack Of Dispensaries, One Doctor Already Recommending Medical ... - WBUR - Young Hector

    […] ProgramMedical News -Boston magazine’s Boston Daily (blog) -CBS Localall 19 news […]

  • Massachusetts Proposes Fees For Medical Marijuana Program - Medical News Today - Young Hector

    […] of industryMassLive.comWorcester Telegram -Boston magazine’s Boston Daily (blog) -CBS Localall 19 news […]

blog comments powered by Disqus
Taz Show
Download Weather App

Listen Live