BOSTON (CBS) -Twenty-eight local and state police were given the Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Award for Bravery in a ceremony Tuesday.

The 29th annual presentation honored local officers, two state troopers and the Boston Police Special Weapons and Tactical Operations Team.

WBZ NewsRadio 1030’s Lana Jones reports

“Every day, in countless ways, we are reminded of the crucial role police officers play in keeping our neighborhoods safe,” Gov. Deval Patrick said. “And we never can forget the dangers they face, the sacrifices they and their families make, and the debt we owe to them. It is of great importance that we recognize today’s award recipients. They truly are the finest, and the bravest.”

Meritorious Recognition

Boston Police Department: Detective Michael A. Kane, Officer Timothy Denio, Officer Charbel Kamel.

Meritorious Recognition Group Awards

Boston Police Department: Lieutenant Gerard W. Bailey, Sergeant Michael C. O’Hara, Detective Todd M. Hartgrove, Detective Christopher A. Moreno, Officer Kevin R. Cooper, Officer Amyleigh P. DeVito, Officer Joseph M. Hynes, Officer Thomas Killion, Officer Yong W. Lee, Officer Darryl V. Tran.

Boston Police Department: Special Weapons and Tactics Team.

Medal of Valor

Boston Police Department: Officer Matthew F. Becker, Officer Daniel Casali, Officer Daniel G. Griffin, Officer Bruce W. Higgins, Officer Shawn P. Marando.

Pepperell Police Department: Officer Steven Burke.

Massachusetts State Police: Trooper Shawn McIntyre.

Woburn Police Department: Officer Robert DeNapoli.

Medal of Honor

Boston Police Department: Officer Dennis J. Murphy, Officer Francesco G. Recupero.

Massachusetts State Police: Trooper Stephen J. Gregorczyk.

Springfield Police Department: Lieutenant Alberto Ayala, Officer Raul Gonzales, Officer Marcus Starks.

Woburn Police Department: Officer Mark Gibbons.