BOSTON (CBS) — When it’s finally time to play ball on Thursday afternoon, we know who will be in uniform for the Boston Red Sox.

The Red Sox announced their opening day lineup on Wednesday afternoon, as well as some injury announcements.

The Sox placed Carl Crawford, Daisuke Matsuzaka, Andrew Miller and Rich Hill on the 15-day disabled list, retroactive to March 26. They also placed Ryan Kalish, Andrew Bailey and Chris Carpenter on the 60-day DL.

The opening day roster consists of 13 pitchers, two catchers, six infielders and four outfielders. With Bailey on the DL, Alfredo Aceves will serve as the team’s closer to begin the season.

The complete 2012 opening day roster is below.

Alfredo Aceves
Matt Albers
Scott Atchison
Daniel Bard
Josh Beckett
Michael Bowden
Clay Buchholz
Felix Doubront
Jon Lester
Mark Melancon
Franklin Morales
Vicente Padilla
Justin Thomas

Jarrod Saltalamacchia
Kelly Shoppach

Mike Aviles
Adrian Gonzalez
David Ortiz
Dustin Pedroia
Nick Punto
Kevin Youkilis

Jacoby Ellsbury
Darnell McDonald
Cody Ross
Ryan Sweeney

Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s