BREAKING NEWS: 5 Dead in I-495 Crash In Middleboro  | Watch WBZ-TV Live  | Listen Live WBZ NewsRadio 1030
WBZ-TV Transmission Issue Update: More

Harvard DT Josue Ortiz Receives Bushnell Cup

BOSTON (CBS) – Harvard senior defensive tackle Josue Ortiz was named the 2011 recipients of the Asa S. Bushnell Cup, which honors the Ivy League Football Players of Year.

Ortiz was named Defensive Player of the Year in front of a packed crowd at a special reception and press conference in the famed Waldorf-Astoria Hotel as part of the festivities surrounding the 54th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner.

Read: BC’s Kuechly Wins Butkus Award

Ortiz is the fifth Harvard player to hoist the Bushnell Cup, following Jim Stoekel (1973), Carl Morris (2001, 2002), Ryan Fitzpatrick (2004), Chris Pizzotti (2008) and Gino Gordon (2010). He is the first Crimson player from the defensive side of the ball to receive the honor and the first defensive player since Penn’s Jake Lewko shared the trophy with Brown’s Buddy Farnham in 2009.

Read: Harvard Hoops In Top 25 For 1st Time

He is the first defensive lineman to be earn the Bushnell Cup since Penn’s Tom Gilmore in 1985.

Cornell sophomore quarterback Jeff Mathews and received the award on the offensive end.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Boston

Download Our App
Download Weather App

Listen Live