BOSTON (CBS) – It was a call that may have changed the game, and unfortunately, it did not go in the Red Sox favor.

In the third inning of Monday night’s loss to Texas, Rangers second baseman Ian Kinsler hit a sinking liner to right field. Josh Reddick made a shoe-string catch and fired to first to double up Craig Gentry, who was caught between first and second.

Double play, inning over. Or so Reddick and the Sox thought. But umpire Doug Eddings saw it differently.

He waved off the catch and ruled that Reddick trapped the ball off the ground.

Reddick, Francona On Non-Catch Call

“I clearly caught it in my opinion,” Reddick told WBZ NewsRadio 1030’s Jonny Miller after the game. “I came in and asked everyone who saw it on TV, they said it was a clear catch.”

“I thought he caught it; heck I know he caught it,” said Red Sox manager Terry Francona, who went out to argue the call to no avail. “When an umpire says he’s sure, and he’s not, I don’t know what to do.”

“Nobody’s perfect, he just missed it,” said Reddick of Eddings.

Roche Blog: Still Time For Francona and Red Sox

It was a blown call, as Reddick clearly caught the ball a few inches off the ground, and it came back to bite the Sox. The next batter, Elvis Andrus, stroked an RBI double to put Texas up 1-0. The Rangers went on to win 4-0.

“I was 100-percent sure I caught it,” said Reddick. “If I don’t catch that it definitely bounces and hits off my chest instead of going in the glove.”

“It’s just part of the game,” said the Boston right fielder.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s