NEW YORK (AP) – Prince Fielder and David Ortiz will get to pick their teammates for the All-Star Home Run Derby.

Major League Baseball announced on Thursday that Fielder of the Milwaukee Brewers was chosen as captain of the National League squad and Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox was picked to be the American League captain.

The last two derby winners will each pick three teammates for the July 11 slugfest at Chase Field in Phoenix. The leagues will compete against each other in this year’s event.

Ortiz was the derby champion last season and Fielder won in 2009.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s