BOSTON (CBS) – Shalane Flanagan will take another shot at winning the Boston Marathon in April.

The New York City Marathon champion and Marblehead native will lead one of the strongest U.S. elite teams to run Boston in 2018.

READ MORE: 'It's Our Job': North Attleboro, Foxboro Firefighters Rescue Passenger On Flight To Chicago

The team, announced Monday by John Hancock, also includes Chicago Marathon champion Galen Rupp in the men’s race.  Rupp finished second in Boston last year with a time of 2:09:58.

Galen Rupp (right) finished second to Geoffrey Kirui in the 2017 Boston Marathon. (WBZ-TV)

Last month, Flanagan became the first American woman to win the New York Marathon since 1977. She has run Boston three times, but never won.

Shalane Flanagan won the 2017 TCS New York City Marathon. (TIMOTHY A. CLARY/AFP/Getty Images)

Last year, the four-time Olympian joined WBZ-TV’s marathon broadcast team after an injury kept her from running the 2017 race.

Flanagan and Rupp are joined on the 2018 U.S. elite team by Olympians Desiree Linden, Dathan Ritzenhein, Abdi Abdirahman, Deena Kastor, Molly Huddle and Jordan Hasay.

Watch: Jordan Hasay talks to WBZ-TV’s Steve Burton

Hasay set an American debut record of 2:23:00 with her third-place finish in Boston last April. She improved her time by two minutes at the Chicago Marathon, finishing third in 2:20:57.

The last time an American woman won Boston was back in 1985, when Lisa Larsen Weidenbach finished in 2:34:06.

You can read more about the U.S. elite team announcement here.

MORE NEWS: Will Kids Have The Same COVID Vaccine Side Effects? Dr. Mallika Marshall Answers Your Questions

You can watch live coverage of the Boston Marathon on WBZ-TV and CBS on April 16, 2018.