BOSTON (CBS) – The Boston Red Sox didn’t make any changes to their roster for the 2013 World Series, which the team announced on Wednesday morning.

Boston kept the same 25-man roster they used for the ALCS against the Detroit Tigers, with Franklin Morales remaining in the bullpen despite an ineffective inning against the Tigers in Game 6.

ROCHE BLOG: On Paper, World Series Offers Classic Matchup

The Red Sox’ World Series roster is as follows:

PITCHERS (11): Craig Breslow, Clay Buchholz, Ryan Dempster, Felix Doubront, John Lackey, Jon Lester, Franklin Morales, Jake Peavy, Junichi Tazawa, Koji Uehara, Brandon Workman.

CATCHERS (2): David Ross, Jarrod Saltalamacchia.

READ: Red Sox-Cardinals Positional Breakdown

INFIELDERS (6): Xander Bogaerts, Stephen Drew, Will Middlebrooks, Mike Napoli, David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia.

OUTFIELDERS (6): Quintin Berry, Mike Carp, Jacoby Ellsbury, Jonny Gomes, Daniel Nava, Shane Victorino.

Seven players on the Boston roster have World Series experience: David Ortiz (2004, 2007), Jon Lester (2007), Dustin Pedroia (2007) and Jacoby Ellsbury (2007) with the Red Sox, and John Lackey (2002 with the Anaheim Angels), Shane Victorino (2008, 2009 with Philadelphia Phillies) and Mike Napoli (2011 with Texas Rangers).

The World Series gets underway Wednesday night with Game 1 at Fenway Park. Jon Letser gets the start for Boston, with Adam Wainwright on the mound for the Cardinals.

READ: World Series Predictions

[display-posts category=”Red Sox” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4?”]


Leave a Reply