By Mark Pratt, Associated Press

BOSTON (CBS\AP) — Masazumi Soejima of Japan has won the Boston Marathon men’s wheelchair division for the second time in 1 hour, 18 minutes, 50 seconds.

The Close Finish To The Men’s Wheelchair Race 

READ MORE: Brookline schools closed Monday, Educators Union plans to strike

Soejima, who also won in 2007, was in third place in the final stretch but made a final frantic push to pass Australian Kurt Fearnley and nine-time champion Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa, who both finished in 1:18.51.

Photo Gallery: Boston Marathon Elite Race

READ MORE: Celtics core group makes their statement with series win over Bucks

Van Dyk had won nine of the last 10 men’s wheelchair races, his string broken by Soejima.

“I gave it my best, but what a race. What a finish,” Van Dyk told WBZ-TV’s Kate Merrill after the race. “It was great, I’m very happy for Soejima that he finally won again here.”

WBZ-TV’s Kate Merrill With Ernst Van Dyk

MORE NEWS: Grant Williams steps up with career game to lead Celtics to Game 7 win over Bucks

(TM and © Copyright 2011 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2011 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)