By Bob Salsberg, Associated Press

BOSTON (AP) – The Governor’s Council has confirmed Gov. Deval Patrick‘s four nominees to the embattled state parole board, but two of them required tie-breaking votes by Lt. Gov. Timothy Murray.

The board has been in turmoil since December, when Woburn police officer John Maguire was shot and killed by Dominic Cinelli, a career criminal who was paroled by the board in 2008.

READ MORE: David Ortiz Hopes To Join Other Red Sox Legends In Hall Of Fame Next Week

The Council on Wednesday voted 5-4 to approve the nominations of Lucy Soto-Abbe, a victims’ advocate in the Hampden District Attorney’s office, and John Bocon, a former chief federal probation officer.

READ MORE: Mega Millions Jackpot Up To $376 Million For Friday Night Drawing

Patrick presided over the meeting so that Murray could cast the tie-breaking votes.

Ina Howard-Hogan, a lawyer for the parole board, was confirmed on a 6-3 vote and Charlene Bonner, a forensic psychologist, was approved 8-1.

MORE NEWS: Hurley's Picks: The Dallas Cowboys Remain Stuck In Loserville, USA

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)