BOSTON (CBS) — Since August 1, 2020, anyone arriving in Massachusetts has been subject to a travel order, in an effort to prevent new coronavirus cases from entering the state. But that’s about to change on Monday, March 22, with a travel advisory replacing Gov. Charlie Baker’s order.
No longer will anyone need to fill out the travel form – and potentially face fines of $500 if they don’t. Instead, most travelers will simply be asked to quarantine if they’ve been out of Massachusetts for more than a day.READ MORE: Are COVID Tests Accurate For Variants? Dr. Mallika Marshall Answers Your Questions
“The new travel advisory will urge all persons entering Massachusetts, including returning residents. . . to quarantine for 10 days upon their arrival if they have been out of the state for 24 hours or more,” Baker’s administration said in this week’s announcement.READ MORE: Firework Thrown From Car Sparks Fire In Franklin; Police Search For Driver
The state listed the following exceptions to the new advisory:MORE NEWS: 'Manhattan In 75 Minutes': First Look At Boston-New York Seaplane Service
- Anyone who is returning to Massachusetts after an absence of fewer than 24 hours.
- Travelers who have a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72 hours prior to their arrival in Massachusetts.
- Workers who enter Massachusetts to perform critical infrastructure functions (as specified by the Federal Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency) while they are commuting to or from or while at work.
- Travelers who are fully vaccinated (i.e. who have received two doses of either the Moderna or Pfizer COVID-19 vaccines OR who have received a single dose of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine, 14 days or more ago and who do not have symptoms).
The state is also encouraging travelers to follow the CDC’s guidelines for travel.