BOSTON (CBS) — California is no longer considered a “COVID lower-risk state” by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. Beginning Saturday, Massachusetts will require people traveling from California to fill out a travel form and then quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in the state.
States qualify as lower-risk when their daily cases per 100,000 are below 10 and the positive test rate below 5%, both measured as a 7-day rolling average.READ MORE: 'A Blast Furnace': Firefighters Battle Strong Winds, Flames At Roxbury Apartment Building
Anyone coming from a state not considered lower-risk needs to fill out a travel form and quarantine or provide a negative COVID-19 test from within 72 hours of your arrival. Failure to comply could result in a fine up to $500.READ MORE: Mother Accused Of Putting Baby In Trash Can Charged With Attempted Murder
The states remaining on the travel order exempt list are Hawaii, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont, Washington, and the District of Columbia.MORE NEWS: Thieves Target Toyota Prius Catalytic Converters In Cambridge
For more information, visit the state’s website.