BOSTON (CBS/AP) — Five former winners have committed to run this year’s Boston Marathon.

Marathon principal sponsor John Hancock Financial announced Tuesday that 2013 men’s winner Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia and 2012 winner Wesley Korir of Kenya will join a field that includes defending champion Meb Keflezighi, the first American man to win since 1983.

On the women’s side, 2012 winner Sharon Cherop and 2011 winner Caroline Kilel, both of Kenya, lead the elite field.

The men’s field also includes last year’s second and third-place finishers, Wilson Chebet and Frankline Chepkwony.

The women’s field is the fastest in Boston Marathon history, with 10 participants holding personal best times under 2:23, and includes Americans Shalane Flanagan, Desiree Davila Linden and Amy Hastings.

The 119th running of the Boston Marathon is scheduled for April 20.

You can watch it live on CBS and WBZ-TV.

(TM and © Copyright 2015 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2015 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply