BOSTON (CBS) — It was just 10 short years ago that the Boston Red Sox ended an 86-year championship drought thanks to a group of self-proclaimed “idiots.”

Most of those “idiots” will be back at Fenway Park in late May, as the team will commemorate the 10-year anniversary of that storybook championship.

READ MORE: Massachusetts Wastewater Testing Shows Increased Presence Of COVID

Johnny Damon, Trot Nixon, Kevin Millar, Mike Timlin, Jason Varitek, Keith Foulke, Derek Lowe, Tim Wakefield, and Pedro Martinez are among those scheduled to attend the May 28 ceremony honoring members of the 2004 Championship team prior to that night’s Red Sox-Braves game at Fenway Park.

READ MORE: Mike Vrabel Sends Rare Tweet Questioning NFL's Call On Potential Travis Kelce Fumble

“The 2004 season produced the most breathtaking, gut-wrenching moments that will forever be etched in our minds,” said Red Sox Chairman Tom Werner. “We look forward to welcoming members of the 2004 team back to Fenway Park for the 10th anniversary celebration, and offering our respect and gratitude for one of the most thrilling comebacks in baseball history.”

Other members of the 2004 Championship team scheduled to attend the celebration include, Abe Alvarez, Ellis Burks, Orlando Cabrera, Cesar Crespo, Lenny DiNardo, Adam Hyzdu, Ron Jackson, Lynn Jones, Gabe Kapler, Curtis Leskanic, Dave McCarty, Ramiro Mendoza, Mike Myers, Pokey Reese, Phil Seibel, Jason Sheill, and Scott Williamson.

MORE NEWS: Vaccinated Westboro High School And Middle School Students Allowed To Remove Masks

[display-posts category=”sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4?”]