BOSTON (CBS) — It’s been a tough season for the 25-win Boston Celtics, but Brandon Bass received a very nice honor ahead of the team’s regular season finale on Wednesday night.

Bass was presented with the Red Auerbach Award in a pregame ceremony prior to Boston’s game against the Washington Wizards.

READ MORE: No Arrests Made, Victim Remains In Critical Condition Following South Shore Plaza Shooting

The award — named after the legendary coach, president and general manager of the Celtics— has been presented each year since the 2005-06 season to the Celtics player or coach who best exemplifies the spirit of what it means to be a Celtics both on and off the court.

READ MORE: Man Shot By Police In Burlington Hospitalized With Life-Threatening Injuries

Paul Pierce (2006 and 2013) and Kevin Garnett (2008 and 2012) both won the award twice, with Al Jefferson (2007), Ray Allen (2009), Rajon Rondo (2010) and coach Doc Rivers (2011) the other winners to hoist the trophy.

The NBA Coach of the Year trophy is also named after Auerbach, who led the Celtics to nine NBA titles from 1956 to 1966 as a coach.

MORE NEWS: Brookline Police Providing Extra Presence At Temples After 'Suspicious Activity'

[display-posts category=”sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4?”]