BOSTON (CBS) –  The New England Patriots have named their team captains for the 2012 season, and it is a very familiar bunch.

They are the same six players that were their captains for the 2011 season.

READ MORE: Severe Thunderstorms Possible In Central, Eastern Massachusetts

On offense, Tom Brady and Logan Mankins return as captains. It’s Brady’s 11th straight season being named a team captain, and Mankins’ second.

READ MORE: Coronavirus In Massachusetts: Today's Developments

On the defensive side, Jerod Mayo, Devin McCourty and Vince Wilfork all return as captains. This will be Wilfork and Mayo’s third year as captains and McCourty’s second.

MORE NEWS: To Do List: Food Festival, Fluff Festival, Kids Festival and More

For the second straight season, Matthew Slater will serve as the special teams captain.