Skiing

Photo-5-skiing

Unseasonal Weather Costing Ski Areas Money

Ski-area operators across the Northeast are dreaming of a white Christmas but seeing red as temperatures hover above optimal snowmaking levels.

12/14/2011

(Photo Credit: Sunday River)

Hitting The Slopes: Skiing & Snowboarding Around Boston

With so many choices, it’s important to weigh your needs against the features of the ski resorts you are considering. The following guide might help you in your decision.

CBS Boston–12/10/2011

Ski Bradford (credit: skibradford.com)

Guide To Ski Bradford

Ski Bradford is in Haverhill. It has 15 trails.

CBS Boston–11/12/2011

Berkshire East (credit: berkshireeast.com)

Guide To Berkshire East Ski Area

Berkshire East is a family-run resort that has been around for 35 years. It is located in Charlemont, 17 miles west of Greenfield, just off Route 2. It has 45 trails.

11/09/2011

Ski Ward (credit: skiward.com)

Guide To Ski Ward

Ski Ward is in Shrewsbury and has nine trails and five lifts.

11/09/2011

Catamount Ski Area (credit: catamountski.com)

Guide To Catamount Ski Area

Catamount is 145 miles west of Boston in Hillsdale, N.Y. It has 33 trails and park areas with six lifts. 40 percent of the terrain rated easier.

11/09/2011

Ski Butternut (skibutternut.com)

Guide To Ski Butternut

Ski Butternut is in Great Barrington about 15 minutes from the Mass Pike. It has 22 trails and 10 lifts. There is also a seven-lane tubing center.

11/09/2011

Otis Ridge (otisridge.com)

Guide To Otis Ridge Ski Area

Otis Ridge started operating in 1946 with two portable rope tows. There are now 13 trails with four lifts.

CBS Boston–11/09/2011

Nashoba Valley Ski Area (File Image Credit: skinashoba.com)

Guide To Nashoba Valley Ski Area

Nashoba Valley Ski Area is 25 miles from Boston and has been open since 1964.

11/09/2011

Blue Hills Ski Area (credit: ski-bluehills.com)

Guide To Blue Hills Ski Area

Blue Hills Ski is in Canton, and the closest ski area to Boston. It’s been around for about 50 years, and is now owned by the state.

11/09/2011

more

previous

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,151 other followers