BOSTON (CBS) — The Celtics could taste victory, but a referee snatched it from them at the last second – literally.

With the Celtics up 103-102 and mere seconds left in regulation, the Chicago Bulls’ Jimmy Butler went up for a potential game-winning jump shot. Celtics point guard Marcus Smart appeared to play strong defense against Butler’s shot, which did not fall – but that’s when the referee interjected, calling a late foul that may or may not have even happened. Butler made his free throws to secure the 104-1013 win for the Bulls.

If you need a microscope to see whether or not Smart grazed Butler’s elbow, it probably should not be called.

The call felt like a moment out of WWE with the way the refs needlessly intervened and screwed the Celtics out of a sure victory. Twitter was quick to react to the Vince McMahon-esque double-cross by the officials.

But wait, there’s a better look at the referee who made the call … aaand it makes it even worse.

Isaiah Thomas summed it up.

What was your reaction to the call that cost the Celtics the game? Share your thoughts in the comments.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s