BOSTON (CBS) – Ty Law will have to wait at least one more year for the Hall of Fame.

The 2017 class for the Pro Football Hall of Fame was announced Saturday during the “NFL Honors” broadcast. Law was a finalist, but did not make the final cut.

LaDainian Tomlinson, Terrell Davis, Kurt Warner, Kenny Easley, Jason Taylor, Morten Andersen and Cowboys owner Jerry Jones were all announced as this year’s inductees.

During his 10-year season with the Patriots, Law racked up 36 regular season interceptions.

Patriots head coach Bill Belichick said this week leading up to the Super Bowl that he believed Law should earn the gold jacket.

“Hopefully Ty will be selected. I certainly think he is worthy of it. He had a great career, I enjoyed coaching Ty,” Patriots head coach Bill Belichick said earlier this week. “I coached him in 1996 as a position coach where I was really able to get a lot closer and have more of an intimate interaction with him than as a head coach. Both are good and Ty has been a good supporter of our team and organization so we are all pulling for him.”

Law was known as a clutch postseason performer, picking off Peyton Manning three times in the 2003 AFC Championship Game.

He also returned a Kurt Warner pass for a touchdown to give the Patriots the lead against the St. Louis Rams in Super Bowl XXXVI.

Though Law did not make the cut in 2017, he will likely be chosen in the upcoming years.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s