HOPKINTON (CBS) – As 36,000 runners waited anxiously for the start of the 118th Boston Marathon Monday, a moment of silence was held to honor the victims of last year’s bombings at the finish line.

Race director Dave McGillivray stood with mobility impaired athletes as the tribute came at 8:45 a.m. at the starting line in Hopkinton.

Krystle Campbell, Martin Richard and Lingzi Lu died April 15, 2013 in the explosions on Boylston Street.  MIT police officer Sean Collier was killed during the manhunt for the suspects.

The moment of silence also honored the two Boston firefighters killed last month in a fire in a Beacon Street brownstone, Lt. Edward J. Walsh and Michael Kennedy.




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s