BOSTON (CBS) – A charitable foundation set up in honor of 8-year-old Boston Marathon bombing victim Martin Richard has announced its team for the 2014 Boston Marathon.

The Martin W. Richard Charitable Foundation (Team MR8) has selected 41 men and 31 women out of more than 250 applicants to run in honor of Richard. Candidates had to fill out an 11-page application.

The team includes personal friends of the Richard family as well as total strangers, teachers and coaches, first responders, doctors and nurses, journalists, entrepreneurs, CEOs, a member of Congress, and two Wounded Warriors.

The Foundation’s mission is “to honor Martin’s message of ‘No more hurting people – peace’ by investing in education, athletics and community.”

“We established The Martin W. Richard Charitable Foundation to honor our son Martin’s message of peace, a message that went global in the days after he was tragically taken from us while we were all cheering on runners at last year’s Boston Marathon,” Martin’s father Bill Richard said in a statement. “While the pain of that day will forever be with us, our hope is that this special event becomes a source of strength for our family and a means to make a difference in the world.”

Runners who are already registered for the race can still apply to join the team.

The runners named to Team MR8 today are:
• Courtney LaVinus, Phoenix, AZ
• Kyrsten Sinema, Phoenix, AZ
• Magggie Smith, Fort Lauderdale, FL
• Edmund Kelly, Lakewood Ranch, FL
• Fran Fidler, Naples, FL
• Harris Stolzenberg, Pompano Beach, FL
• Sarah Broderick, Chicago, IL
• Samantha Kirkham, Hindsdale, IL
• Molly Akers, Western Springs, IL
• Blake Bolden, Indianapolis, IN
• Kelly Flowers, Louisville, KY
• Michael Gosselin, Boston, MA
• Tom Hobin, Boston, MA
• Devon Costello, Braintree, MA
• Rachel Mathewson, Brighton, MA
• Tina Cassidy, Brookline, MA
• Diane Pokorny-Wilson, Brookline, MA
• Chris Peterson, Cambridge, MA
• Jo Lysko, Canton, MA
• John Conforti, Charlestown, MA
• Sean Murphy, Chelmsford, MA
• Meaghan Leahy, Cohasset, MA
• Katy Kelly, Dorchester, MA
• Harry Benzan, Dorchester, MA
• Collin Butler, Dorchester, MA
• Jose Calderon, Dorchester, MA
• Robert Cleary, Dorchester, MA
• Michelle Griffin, Dorchester, MA
• John Hanlon, Dorchester, MA
• Michelle Hobin, Dorchester, MA
• Lisa Jackson, Dorchester, MA
• James Keefe, Dorchester, MA
• Mike McCarthy, Dorchester, MA
• Rachel Moo, Dorchester, MA
• Patrick Ryan, Dorchester, MA
• Stephen Wilkins, Dorchester, MA
• Brady Finney, Haverhill, MA
• Ray Childs, Hingham, MA
• Jane Dowd, Holden, MA
• Joe Moriarty, Holliston, MA
• Laura Donia, Hudson, MA
• Suzanne McDevitt, Milton, MA
• Allyson Wade, Natick, MA
• Lori Fernald, North Easton, MA
• Justin Compton, North Grafton, MA
• David Gilmartin, Norwell, MA
• Joe Mawn, Norwood, MA
• Jenna Furey, Quincy, MA
• Beth Zerilli, Rockport, MA
• Mike Kineavy, South Boston, MA
• John Lutz, South Boston, MA
• Nick Masciarelli, South Boston, MA
• Kristen McGill, South Boston, MA
• Jason McKenna, South Boston, MA
• Vicki Shen, South Boston, MA
• Safdar Medina, Southborough, MA
• Fred Cormier, Spencer, MA
• Matt Carlin, Sudbury, MA
• James Przypek, Ware, MA
• Stephen Noxon, Wellesley, MA
• Paul Kelly, Weymouth, MA
• Cedric King, Bethesda, MD
• Nicholas Franks, Eliot, ME
• Corey Rodgers, Quincy, MI
• JR Fallon, Bedford, NH
• Kevin Entwistle, Ridgewood, NJ
• Barbara McHugh, Brooklyn, NY
• Anthony Spero, Queensbury, NY
• Matt Morse, Havertown, PA
• Meg McGreevy, Media, PA
• Sean Crump, East Greenwich, RI
• Edward Lychik, Tacoma, WA

Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s