NH Weighs Fine For Failure To Report Animal Cruelty

CONCORD, N.H. (AP) — Anyone witnessing cruelty to livestock would be required to report the incident or face a $250 fine under a bill before the New Hampshire House.

The reports would be filed with police within 48 hours. People taking pictures or videotaping intentional cruelty to livestock or poultry would have the same duty to tell police they have evidence of the abuse. The bill defines cruelty as torturing, maiming, lacerating or grossly overworking livestock or poultry or transporting them in a cruel manner.

State Rep. Robert Haefner wrote the House that people claiming they need to document the abuse over time are allowing the abuse to continue.

But state Rep. Christy Bartlett said the bill makes it a crime to fail to report abuse even if someone knows nothing about agriculture.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Brittius

    Reblogged this on Brittius.com.

  • http://www.care2.com/causes/dont-let-new-hampshire-help-factory-farms-hide-animal-abuse.html Don't Let New Hampshire Help Factory Farms Hide Animal Abuse | Care2 Causes

    […] Hampshire is considering imposing fines on people who witness cruelty to livestock or poultry but don’t report it […]

blog comments powered by Disqus
Taz Show
Download Weather App

Listen Live