NEWwbztv-small wbz-am-small 985-small mytv38web2

Patriots

NFL Supports Replacement Refs’ Ruling In Green Bay-Seattle Debacle

View Comments
Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate makes a catch in the end zone to defeat the Green Bay Packers on a controversial call by the replacement officials. (Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images)

Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate makes a catch in the end zone to defeat the Green Bay Packers on a controversial call by the replacement officials. (Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images)

Patriots Central
Buy Patriots Tickets
Sun Sep.21
Home vs Oakland Raiders
findticketsbtn NFL Supports Replacement Refs Ruling In Green Bay Seattle Debacle
Mon Sep.29
Away vs Kansas City Chiefs
findticketsbtn NFL Supports Replacement Refs Ruling In Green Bay Seattle Debacle
Sun Oct.5
Home vs Cincinnati Bengals
findticketsbtn NFL Supports Replacement Refs Ruling In Green Bay Seattle Debacle
Sun Oct.12
Away vs Buffalo Bills
findticketsbtn NFL Supports Replacement Refs Ruling In Green Bay Seattle Debacle
 
Shop for Patriots Gear
NFL Scoreboard
NFL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
New England Patriots

BOSTON (CBS) – The NFL issued a statement regarding the controversial end to the Packers-Seahawks game on Monday night, siding with the league’s replacement referees.

While the statement does say Seahawks receiver Golden Tate should have been called for offensive pass interference, which should have ended the game, the league says the call was not reviewable, and with both Tate and Packers safety M.D. Williams coming down with the ball the possession goes to the offensive player. The outcome of the game is final, and will not be changed by the league.

Toucher & Rich: ‘It’s Not Funny Anymore’

Here is the statement in full, via NFL.com:

In Monday’s game between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks, Seattle faced a 4th-and-10 from the Green Bay 24 with eight seconds remaining in the game.

Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.

Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

Referee Wayne Elliot determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

The result of the game is final.

Applicable rules to the play are as follows:

A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book defines a catch:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and

(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and

(c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

When a player (or players) is going to the ground in the attempt to catch a pass, Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 states:

Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 states:

Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball

Monday night’s ending was just one of many controversial calls made by the official referees, who are filling in while the NFL and their regular officials try to work out a new benefits package.

Chung On T&R: Patriots ‘Not Worried About Things We Can’t Control’

Many players took to social media following Monday’s game to voice their displeasure with the replacement officials. Patriots linebacker Brandon Spikes did so Sunday night following New England’s 31-30 loss to the Ravens.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,021 other followers