Red Sox

Kalish Back In Red Sox Lineup

View Comments
Red Sox outfielder Ryan Kalish. (Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images)

Red Sox outfielder Ryan Kalish. (Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images)

Boston Red Sox

BOSTON (CBS) – Red Sox prospect Ryan Kalish is returning to the lineup Wednesday night as Boston closes out a three-game series with the Detroit Tigers.

Kalish will bat eighth and play right field as Boston goes for their fifth straight win and a sweep of Detroit at Fenway.

This is Kalish’s second stint with the Red Sox this season, after he hit .217 (13-for-60) with five RBI in 18 games from June 17-July 7.

Read: Red Sox -Tigers Preview

The 24-year-old was recalled Tuesday after Ryan Sweeney was placed on the disabled list with a hand injury suffered in Monday night’s win.

Here is the full Red Sox lineup for Wednesday night:

1. Jacoby Ellsbury, CF

2. Carl Crawford, LF

3. Dustin Pedroia, 2B

4.  Adrian Gonzalez, 1B

5. Cody Ross, DH

6. Jarrod Saltalamacchia, C

7. Will Middlebrooks, 3B

8. Ryan Kalish, RF

9. Pedro Ciriaco, SS

Aaron Cook (2-4, 4.50 ERA) gets the start for Boston with Ricky Porcello (7-6, 4.56 ERA) on the hill for the Tigers.

Discuss: Were Sox Fans Wrong To Boo Injured Beckett?

If the Red Sox pull off the sweep, it would be their fourth of the season and first since taking all three from the Miami Marlins back in June.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus