BOSTON (CBS) – It was Super Saturday in Massachusetts with nine Eastern Mass high school football teams being crowned Super Bowl Champs.

BC High, Everett, Duxbury, Dennis-Yarmouth, Concord-Carlisle, Bourne, Mashpee, Blue Hills and Nantucket all won State titles on Saturday.

Click Here For Central Mass. Scores

Here is a quick look at all of Saturday’s Super Bowl action!

High School Super Bowl Highlights 

Division 1

Boston College High 21-Needham 7

BC High running back Deantae Ramey-Doe had the play, and name, of the day with a 91-yard touchdown run in the second quarter, as the Eagles won their first D1 title since 2008.

BC High beat Needham 21-7 on three Ramey-Doe touchdowns to go with his 200 yards on the ground.

Needham took an early 7-0 lead on a five yard Michael Vega touchdown pass.

Ramey-Doe With Dan Roche 

Division 1A

Everett 36-Lincoln-Sudbury 13

Evertt finished a perfect season with a D1A Super Bowl victory. Jonathan Dibiaso ran for two touchdowns, and Everett got scoring runs from Jakarrie Washington, Vondell Lansgton and Jalen Felix.

DiBiaso closes his career as the state’s all-time leading passer with 7,052 yards and 103 touchdowns.

Everett finished 11-2, scoring on a 61-yard interception return from Connor Young.

Division 2

Duxbury 35 – Tewksbury 0

Duxbury completed an undefeated 13-0 season and won their 26th straight game with their second straight Division 2 Super Bowl Title.

Senior quarterback Matt O’Keefe threw three touchdowns, completing eight of his 18 passes for 135 yards. O’Keefe finished the season with 35 TD passes.

Duxbury running back Jon Hurvitz ran in two scores and receiver Don Webber caught his 11th touchdown of the season. The Dragons defense held Tewksbury to just 12 yards in the first half  and 106 for the game. They forced three turnovers, all of which turned into Duxbury scores. It was the Duxbury defense’s sixth shutout of the year.

Duxbury celebrates their fourth Super Bowl championship, also finishing 13-0 in 2008 and 2005.

Tewksbury’s Chris Bettano rushed for 82 yards and finished the season with 1,395. They finishe the season 7-6. Saturday was the school’s sixth Super Bowl appearance.

Duxbury’s James Burke Postgame 

Division 2A

Dennis-Yarmouth 35 – Wakefield 0

Dennis-Yarmouth won their first championship in school history, capturing the D2A title with a 35-0 Super Bowl win over Wakefield.

The Dolphins got big days from three seniors, highlighted by quarterback Matt Montalto who completed 11 of his 13 passes for 200 yards and three touchdowns. He also ran for 48 yards and a pair of scores.

Senior wide receiver Damien Johnson had six receptions for 124 yards and a touchdown, with running back Dylan Hodsdon catching two touchdowns with 85 yards on the ground for Dennis-Yarmouth.

The Dolphins converted on two first half fourth downs, with their second touchdown coming on 20-yard strike from Montalto to Hodsdon on fourth and 15.

The Warriors had three drives end in the red zone, two of which were interceptions by Dennis-Yarmouth’s Johnson. Wakefield turned the ball over four times in the game.

Dennis-Yarmouth Celebrates Their Championship 

Division 3

Concord Carlisle 42 – Oliver Ames 9

Concord-Carlisle completed their perfect season with a 42-9 Super Bowl victory over Oliver Ames to win the D3 title.

CC ran for 298 total yards, with senior running back George Craan rushing for 122 yards and three touchdowns.

Quarterback Ryan Hoey threw two touchdowns to senior tight end Henry Bumpus, who had an interception on defense as well. Bumpus is heading to Brown next year.

It is Concord-Carlisle’s first state championship since 1978, when head coach Mike Robichaud’s father Al was manning the sidelines. A Hall of Famer, Al Robichaud coached CC from 1972-1990.

Oliver Ames scored their lone touchdown on a three-yard run by Sam Langston in the fourth quarter. They finish their season 7-5.

Division 3A

Bourne 16 – Hamilton-Wenham 14

The Bourne Canalman won their first Super Bowl championship with a hard fought 16-14 win over Hamilton-Wenham in the D3A title game.

Both teams entered the game with a 12-0 record.

Hamilton-Wenham took a 14-8 lead in the second quarter on a 44-yard touchdown pass from Trevor Lyons to Matt Putur. But their quarterback had to leave the game with a shoulder injury after the long score, an injury he  suffered after taking a hard hit a few plays earlier on Eliot Burr’s one-yard touchdown run.

Bourne quarterback Jason Moriarty made up for a fumble at the one-yard line before the half, throwing a 10-yard strike to Nick Pereira in the third quarter. Moriarty ran in the eventual game-winning two point conversion.

Moriarty finished 3-for-4 for 53 yards.

Division 4

Mashpee 34- Cardinal Spellman 8

In the final game at Gillette Stadium, Mashpee rode a huge day by junior running back Jared Taylor to a 34-8 win in the Division 4 Super Bowl over Cardinal Spellman.

Mashpee completed a perfect season at 13-0, handing Cardinal Spellman their first loss of the year.

Taylor ran for 306 yards and three touchdowns, scoring on runs of 10, 54 and 58 yards.

Pat Hinkley scored Cardinal Spellman’s only touchdown on an 18-yard run in the final minute.

Mashpee Postgame Reaction 

Division 4A

Blue Hills 16  – Cathedral High School 14

Boston Cathedral will remember the 2011 D4A Super Bowl as the one that got away.

It would have been the school’s first state title, but quarterback Matt Owens was flagged for “unsportsmanlike conduct” for celebrating before scoring on what would have been the potential game-winning touchdown in the fourth quarter. Owens raised his index finger on his right hand to the air before reaching the end zone, drawing the penalty.

Owens was involved with both of Boston Cathedral’s second quarter touchdowns, throwing a 44-yard touchdown to Carlos Bemudez and taking one in from three yards out to make it a 16-12 game before the half.

Blue Hills scored both of their touchdowns in the first quarter, with John Curran connecting with Isaiah Teixeira for a 45-yard strike, and a one-yard touchdown run from senior running back Vincent Burton.

Burton ran for 150-yards and ate most of the clock on his 36 carries. He ran the ball 13 times in the third quarter alone.

Division 5

Nantucket 35 – Boston Latin 7

Nantucket finished their season 10-2 with a 35-7 win over Latin Academy to take home the Division 5 title.

Nantucket’s Taylor Hughes ran for 122 yards and two touchdowns on his 18th birthday, finishing the season with 21 rushing TDs and 31 total. He also completed three passes for 105 yards.

Ernest Kellough ran for Latin Academy’s only score, a one-yard touchdown run in the third quarter to make it 28-7. Latin Academy finishes the season at 7-5.

Nantucket’s Zach Moran threw a 20-yard touchdown to Andrew Benson in the first quarter, and ran in their final touchdown of the day in the fourth. Codie Perry ran in a 10-yard touchdown in the second quarter and finished the game with 82 yards.

Nantucket Coach Bill Manchester  Postgame 

Comments (2)
  1. gramps says:

    Little old ‘Cape Cod’….had 4 teams in their respective ‘Super Bowl’ division hunt, Bourne, Dennis-Yarmouth, Mashpee & Nantucket, ‘all winners’

    Well done!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s