BOSTON (CBS) – Detroit Tigers starter Justin Verlander has been named the 2011 American League MVP.

Verlander, who already won the AL Cy Young award, was dominant this year for Detroit. He won the pitching triple crown, finishing 24-5 with a 2.40 ERA and 250 strikeouts. He received 13 first place votes and was named on all but one ballot.

Also in consideration was Red Sox center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury, who finished second in voting with four first place votes and 13 second place votes.

Read: The Voting Results

He congratulated Verlander on Twitter, shortly after the announcement Monday afternoon.

After an injury-plagued 2010, Ellsbury returned to have his best season as a major leaguer.

He led the team with 32 home runs, 46 doubles and 119 runs scored. Ellsbury drove in 105 runs and had 212 hits, second on the team behind only first baseman Adrian Gonzalez. He set career highs in nearly every statistical category this season.

Gonzalez finished seventh in the voting.

The last starting pitcher to win an MVP award was Roger Clemens in 1986 with the Red Sox.

Comments (4)
  1. B's Fan says:

    Wow…..unbelivable! Verlander desereves something (hmmm….I know the Cy Young) but pitchers should not be able to win MVP Ellsbury desereved that hands down!

  2. FireGuyFrank says:

    Agreed; a poor choice by baseball writers who just like to hate on Red Sox and other successful organizations.

    Take Ellsbury out of the Sox lineup and the collapse never happens — because the Sox would not be in a position to collapse.

  3. J says:

    MVP’s are for winners…Ells and the Sox were losers this year. I love them to death but they don’t deserve any awards for this terrible season. And yes, pitchers should be able to win the MVP (Its not called the Most Valuable Positional Player). Pedro got jobbed in ’99 but there have been more than 15 pitchers to win the MVP.

  4. Red Sox Fan says:

    Jacoby is a class act, and the Red Sox are lucky to have him.
    He deserved to win, but I think the collapse of the Red Sox contributed to the voting. If the Red Sox had performed as a team, I believe voting would have been different. But regardless, he should be proud of all that he accomplished this season. I believe all in major league baseball know wat a gem of a player, and a person, this man is. Hard working and a team player. Congratulations to him on all of his accomplishements!!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s