8 Red Sox Become Free Agents

BOSTON (CBS) – Eight Boston Red Sox officially became free agents on Sunday.

David Ortiz, J.D. Drew, Erik Bedard, Connor Jackson, Trevor Miller, Jonathan Papelbon, Jason Varitek and Tim Wakefield all filed for free agency on Sunday.

The Red Sox have an exclusive window to negotiate with their free agents until Thursday at 12:01 AM.

The Red Sox have until Nov. 23 to decide whether to offer arbitration to any of their free agents.

Source: Sox Pick Up Scutaro’s Option 

Ortiz and Papelbon are expected to be Type-A free agents, meaning if they are offered arbitration and decline, Boston will get two high draft picks if they sign elsewhere.

New Red Sox general manager Ben Cherington has stated he would like to bring both Ortiz and Papelbon back.

  • http://boston.cbslocal.com/2011/10/30/mackanin-svuem-to-interview-with-red-sox/ Mackanin, Svuem To Interview With Red Sox « CBS Boston

    […] Read: 8 Red Sox Become Free Agents […]

  • "carla tortelli"

    bring back papi, tek, pap & wakefield. management – “the nation” was not happy at season’s end. i personally would like to administer multiple dope slopes to those who offended players of the past & “the nation.” re-establish your pact with us, let us hibernate in peace until we rise again in the spring. “ease our pain” since we know “there’s no crying in baseball.”

blog comments powered by Disqus
Taz Show
Download Weather App

Listen Live