BOSTON (CBS) – The NHL released the 2011-12 regular season schedule on Thursday, with the Boston Bruins opening their season at home October 6 against the Philadelphia Flyers.

As part of an opening night triple-header, the Bruins will raise their 2011 Stanley Cup banner in front of the team they swept out of the second round. The puck is set to drop at 7 pm opening night, but the ceremonies will likely push that back a bit.

Two days later on Saturday, October 8, the Bruins will host their Eastern Conference Finals foe, the Tampa Bay Lightning. The last time the two teams met in the Garden, the Bruins shut out the Lightning 1-0 in Game 7 to punch their ticket to the Stanley Cup. The two teams will meet four times in the regular season.

View The Full 2011-12 Bruins Schedule

The Vancouver Canucks will get a first-hand look at the Bruins championship banner on Saturday, January 7 at 1 pm, their only visit to the TD Garden. It will be the only matchup between the two Stanley Cup teams next season.

The Bruins will play the Montreal Canadiens six times in the regular season. The Canadiens make their first visit to Boston on Thursday, October 28 with the B’s heading up north two days later on Saturday, October 29. The other matchups areMonday, December 19 and Thursday, Januaruary 12 in Boston and Monday, November 21 and Wednesday, February 15 in Montreal.

The Bruins will get their first look at the new Winnepeg franchise Saturday, November 26 when the un-named team comes to Boston. The Bruins will make their first trip to Winnepeg Tuesday, December 6.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s