Six Communities Sign Agreement To Share Police

View Comments


CHELSEA (CBS) — Six communities have entered a partnership that allows their police officers to have authority in all six towns.

The agreement is between Chelsea, Everett, Revere, Malden, Saugus and Winthrop. The move is in response to decreasing budgets and an increase in violent crimes.

In addition to sharing personnel, the towns will share some equipment.

WBZ NewsRadio 1030’s Bernice Corpuz reports.

Chelsea city councilor Calvin Brown says the timing couldn’t be better. “Hopefully as we prepare for our summer months and we get these programs up and running the police from different communities will have great collaboration and it will be a successful program. We hope we can continue to keep our residents safe,” he said.

The agreement includes 70 officers.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,141 other followers