Rhode Island Considering Tougher Seat Belt Law
PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) – Forget to wear a seat belt in Rhode Island and you might be pulled over and fined $75 under a bill pending in the General Assembly.
Supporters of the tougher law are saying the measure would save lives by encouraging more motorists to use seat belts. But critics argue the state can’t legislate common sense.
Under current law, police may stop and ticket drivers if a child passenger isn’t belted or if the driver is under 18 and not buckled up. Adult drivers can only be cited for not wearing a seat belt if they committed another violation like speeding.
Thirty states already have the stronger law. If Rhode Island joins the list by June, it will receive nearly $4 million in additional federal transportation funds.
(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)