BOSTON (CBS) – It is a matchup seen quite a bit in the Boston area, just very few times as a Beanpot championship.

The 208th all-time meeting between Boston College and Northeastern marks just the third time the two schools meet in the Beanpot final. Notheastern took the first championship matchup in 1980, 5-4 in overtime, with the Eagles winning 8-2 in 1983.

The BC Eagles, ranked number-one in the country, make their fifth finals appearance in the last six years. They are going for their second straight Beanpot crown, and third in the last four years. Coach Jerry york is making his 31st Beanpot final appearance, as he looks to build on his 4-6 finals record and capture his fifth Beanpot championship.

On the other end of the spectrum, Northeastern will vie for their fifth Beanpot title and first since 1988. Goaltender Chris Rawlings is on a hot-streak with four shutouts in his last eight games. He shutout Harvard 4-0 on 41 saves last Monday for his fifth shutout of the season. Rawlings had 33 saves against BC in October, but the Eagles prevailed with a 2-0 win.

Boston College needed overtime last Monday to beat their Beanpot rivals, Boston University. Junior Tommy Cross scored the game-winning goal 3:17 into overtime.

The Eagles have three seniors with plenty of Beanpot experience. Joe Whitney, Brian Gibbons and John Muse have a 6-1 record in Beanpot play, with Forward Gibbons taking home MVP honors in 2008. Goaltender Muse took home the MVP award in 2010 after making 31 saves in a 4-3 championship win against BU.

The last time these two teams met in the Beanpot was in the first round in 2009. Northeastern won 6-1.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s