marathon The Year for US in Boston Marathon?U.S. marathon officials are hoping that this is the year a U.S. runner breaks through and wins the Boston Marathon.

With New York City Marathon winner Meb Keflezighi (kef-LEZ-ghee) and fellow Californian Ryan Hall in the field Monday, the Americans have two good chances for a victory.

No American man has won the world’s oldest annual marathon since Greg Myers in 1984. Lisa Larsen Wiedenbach won the women’s race the next year.

Keflezighi won the silver medal in the Athens Olympics and finished third in Boston in 2006. Hall was third in Boston last year after leading much of the race.

Defending champions Deriba Merga (deh-REE-bah MARE-gah) of Ethiopia and Salina Kosgei (KOZ-gay) of Kenya are back in the field this year.

© 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy.

[Get Copyright Permissions]Click here for copyright permissions!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s